Settlers from an
earlier community called St. Clair moved en masse a few
miles east to the Texas and Pacific RR when it built
through in 1872. In 1931 oil was discovered and
population doubled to 1,000 overnight, reaching 10,000 at
the height of the boom. (One of Texaco's first derricks
and pumping units is preserved in the 100 block of W.
Commerce along with historical marker.) City now a trade
center for agricultural and lumbering interests. Claiming
title of "Antique Capital of East Texas" city
boasts more than two dozen antique and crafts shops. B
& B Bygones features original soda fountain with
marble top; serves old- fashioned sodas and sandwiches.
Location map and information from chamber of commerce,
215 N. Main (U.S. 271).
Helen Lee Estate Daffodil
Spectacular display of blooms draws
visitors from wide area. Open during blooming season
(mid-Feb. through late-Feb.) 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. daily. From
Loop 485, take U.S. 271 south 5.6 mi.; then 1.3 mi. east
on County Road 3104.
St. Clair Museum of
Mementoes and artifacts of city's
early days. Open Mon. - Fri. 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. at 817 N.
Main St. Historical exhibits also displayed at Gladewater
National Bank, Mon. - Fri. 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. (till 6 p.m.
Fri.) and a collection of historic pictures is at the
First State Bank (same hours). Banks are on U.S. 271.